Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Skip to main content
European Commission logo
EACEA National Policies Platform


1. Youth Policy Governance

1.5 Cross-sectoral approach with other ministries

Last update: 28 March 2024
On this page

Mechanisms and actors

The norms that regulate horizontal cross-sectoral cooperation among public bodies is contained in law241/1990 regulating administrative proceedings.

To coordinate youth policies at national level, the Department for Youth Policies and the Universal Civic Service  makes regular use of two tools, namely protocols of understandings and inter-ministerial working groups.

Within the Presidency of the Council of Ministers, for the development of specific measures addressed at youth, the Department for Youth Policy and the Universal Civic Service has the support of the following sectoral Departments:

However, the promotion of youth rights is not exclusively assigned to the Department. All the Ministries are called upon to develop specific policies in favour of youth. The major programmes in favour of youth have been developed by the following Ministries:

As of 2024, the Department activated the following initiatives:

  • Collaboration with all the Ministries of the Republic and the Departments of the Presidency of the Council of Ministers for the identification of the opportunities offered to young people throughout the country. These opportunities are published on the Youth 2030 platform, active since 15 March 2021;
  • Collaboration with the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation for the drafting of bilateral and multilateral agreements and arrangements for the promotion of cross-border youth mobility;
  • Collaboration with the Department of Sport for the implementation of the European project "Combating hate speech in sport".

Inter-ministerial working group of the national authorities responsible for the various sectors of the Erasmus + Program, in particular the Ministry of Labour, the Ministry of Education and Merit, the Ministry of University and Research and the Department of Sport.